top of page

Run the Race Keep your eyes looking up!




Keep your eyes looking up!

1 Cor 9:24 – Know ye not that they which run in a race run all, but one. Received the prize. So run, that ye may obtain

Heb 12:1 – (ESV) Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and the sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us

Acts 20:24 – (ESV) But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.


2 Timothy 4:7 – (ESV) I have fought the good fight of faith, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.


2 Timothy 4:8 - Henceforth there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will award to me on that day, and not only to me but also to all who have loved his appearing.



In 2 Timothy 4:7, you can see the apostle Paul explaining how he has completed the task the Lord gave him. It is so amazing the word of God how it fits into our everyday lives now as it did in the past, present and future. You read on in verse 8 to see what his prize is when he comes before the Kink of Kings and what we as believers will receive.



How many times the Lord has reminded me that I am in a race and everything I do and say shows the Lord, as well as the world for whom, where, and what I am running to. During the time I am writing this, I am going through a time of battling a tumor in my brain that was discovered in 2016. This is an example of running the race in my life. I had the choice of stopping the race of life and giving up, quitting, and letting all the things the Lord has promised to me pass me by, such as healing, new life, walking in faith, not allowing the enemy to defeat me, and bind me up. So, whether I live or die, I do it for the Lord and that he alone will get all the glory to what I have done, while I am given a chance to remain here on this earth to preach, share, and to show the love of God in my life to all around me no matter what I am going through (such as now a brain tumor).

I often remember a song from years ago that reminds me who I am and why I am running this race the Lord has put me on. It goes like this: I cannot be defeated, and I’ll never quit. I been redeemed by the blood of Jesus released from satan’s grip. Jesus came and fought the battle, so the battles already won, I cannot be defeated I’m saved I’m healed I am free! WOW, this song says a mouthful and punches the enemy in the eye big time reminding him, I know who I am and that through Jesus Christ alone there is nothing that can stop the work of God in my life right? Well, what happens when I stop on the race? Does that qualify me for the prize? No, it does not the scriptures I have I have to endure to the end to receive the prize at the end, so I must keep running.


How are you training to run?

Now the next question is how do I run? Have your ever seen runners training? I used to run the 100-yard dash in high school and also the mile race. The reason I did this was to condition myself for any time I was called to compete in either of the races. I would additionally ride a bicycle to school from my home and back every day 5 days a week in order to ensure I was ready to get on the track and run each day. I notice as I trained and went through a lot of pain in my body that I was getting stronger. I started to develop new running techniques to make me a better runner shaving off time as I trained every day. My weekends were spent at the gym. So, I was fully committed to running.


The scripture says in Psalms 18:29 For by you I can run against a troop, and by my God, I can leap over a wall. What does that mean to me? Well, no matter what comes my way tumors or cancer, anything that tries to overtake me and destroy me will fail as long as I am running the race for the prize set before me through the Lord and him alone. He will make a way when there is no way. He promised me in his word, this is faith in action.



Sometimes we must run, and it is dark we don’t think the Lord is hearing us or answering out=r prayers but he is always there, and you do not see him or feel him. That’s usually a sign of two things we either do not know him or we are going through a test where he wants us to be faithful and trust in him to provide the path and know he will never leave or forsake us. He is usually right next to you during these times wanting you to know him more and seek him in his word as you run in the dark, knowing the light is coming to your path. HAVE FAITH, TRUST, AND OBEY!


So today I hope this message will help you to focus on the Lord and know that no matter what you're going through the Lord will provide for you too! Just pray to him and ask him to come into your heart if you do not know him. Ask the Lord Jesus to forgive you of all of your sins and that you want the lord to run the race with you and know that he is right there beside you as you read this. Tell the Lord you know you’re a sinner and without Jesus running this race of life with you are not able to finish.

If you have quit the race and are a believer, ask the Lord to give you the strength to get up and to continue on no matter what the circumstances. You may be thinking you do not know what I am going through so how can you say that? Yes, I do. I am facing and many times in my life have faced times not only with a tumor but also on the battlefield and through family relationships and everyday life struggles. Once I gave them over to the Lord and truly picked myself up and started running again that was when the Lord showed himself mighty in my life! He gave me the strength to endure to the end and gave me the strength I needed.

Please Pray this prayer if you are ready to let Jesus Christ come into your life and set you free from the world:

Lord Jesus, I ask you today to come into my life. I know you died on the cross for the sins of all mankind and have come to set all people free from the things which hold us back and defeat us. I thank you for all the pain you suffered for me and that you are seated in heaven making intercession on your people.

So, right now, I ask you to come into my heart and receive you into my heart believing Jesus you are truly the Son of God and that through you I am forgiven, your blood you shed on the cross cleanses me from everything in my life and all my sins are forgiven right now. I ask you to heal my body, mind, and soul and that you deliver me from all generational curses that could have been placed on my life, and to always help me to keep looking up and to run the race enduring until the end. I pray this in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, AMEN!

If you know the Lord and want him to come and bring you back to where you know you are forgiven and stop walking in defeat, then say this prayer:

Jesus, you are the great redeemer and have been with me even though I have walked away from you and gone my own way. I ask you Lord to accept me back into your fold and to cleanse me and make me white as snow, so I am able to hear your voice. You said your seep know your voice and follow you. I ask you Lord to strengthen me and give me the strength to get back up and to run once again. Thank you, Jesus, for your peace and strength to run and endure till the end.


10 views

Recent Posts

See All

PROTOCOLS

Protocols - After working for 25 years with the State Department, I understand why we need and follow diplomatic protocols. We need these rules so our Diplomats can live and work in countries with dif

Plagues Bring Change

The Plagues that were sent from God in the old testament were to bring the wandering people of Israel back to him. He also reaches back to the Egyptians and tries to get them to listen to him through

What Church or Synagog do you attend?

How many of us ask this question? I was praying over the Shabbat readings this week. I started to ask 7the Holy Spirit what church I go to. I remember that Jesus always ask the people questions, knowi

bottom of page